Tuesday, May 30, 2006

17 and Genuine

Uprising singer/songwriter Dave Mellilo hails from a place not too far from Disneyland. Though, his new EP, TALK IS CHEAP goes nowhere near 'playful'. His songs show individuality of a spirited youth, and Knights of the Island Counter does just that as you feel each guitar strum and piano key dance with a beat that varies from time to time.

My personal fav would be track 3 - This is 2005. It's got a catchy hook due to beautiful piano orchestration that gels so well with his lyrics (about self discover perhaps). Not too say the rest of the tracks are bad or anything, but there's really nothing special about them.

But the track 3 & 4 has got what it takes to hit the charts (top 30 at least?). Out in CD on June 13, 2006. If you like the sounds of Teddy Geiger, then you'd like his offering.

This gets 5/10 in my books.

Track Listing:
1. Sam's Song
2. Vatican Roulette
3. Knights of the Island Counter
4. This is 2005
5. Morris County Blues
6. For the Sake of Remembering

No comments: